Change Your iDrop Settings To Avoid Nasty Images AND Sharing By Accident

 In Apple Mac Repair News, Apple Tech News, iPhone Repair News, Mobile Phone Repair News

Many iPhone users are getting nasty surprises from a sharing feature they may not realise allows anyone with an iPhone also to send images to their phones.

The New York Post has stated that female subway users in New York received messages telling them that someone wanted to share a picture with them over AirDrop. This feature is designed for ease of  sharing photos and files on your iPhone, Mac or iPad with anyone in your immediate area. If women accepted the request, they then received an unsolicited picture of a naked man.

“It never even crossed my mind that someone may use it to send stuff like that,” said Britta Carlson who received a nasty picture

AirDrop uses WiFi and Bluetooth and is unique because it doesn’t require you to share your number, username or email with someone to send and receive files. People often use AirDrop for work to share files and kids with iPhones have used it to share photos to get around social media misuse.

How To Control This Feature

 

  1. Head into the Control Centre. This is the menu that appears when you swipe up from the bottom of your screen.
  2. Look for “AirDrop,” and you can see what your settings are. Tap the icon to turn off receiving completely, or you can choose to receive files from just your contacts or from everyone.

This isn’t the first time that iPhone users have been duped by others with this feature. A similar incident was reported on the London Underground two years ago, when such a request popped up on a woman’s phone along with a nasty preview image.

In June, author Renee Bracey Sherman said that someone surprised her by sending her an image of the cartoon frog Pepe when she was at an airport.

Be mindful that if you want to keep the feature on it’s not an amazing idea to accept files from anyone so look to the steps above to correct that.

Recent Posts